The Table Women Podcast
The Table Ep. 23 - RX Artist-Songwriter Anna Mae!

The Table Ep. 23 - RX Artist-Songwriter Anna Mae!

September 14, 2021

Pop/Sync Artist & Songwriter signed to RX Songs Anna Mae sits down with Sarah and Vic to discuss:

  • Growing up on a farm in MN to attending Belmont and becoming a signed Nashville songwriter
  • Finally finding your groove and creating authentic art
  • The phases of an evolving career
  • New world, new you, new authentic music
  • Mental health, trusting your instincts, and coping mechanisms
  • Being your own manager and label
  • The struggle of balancing personal and professional life and feeling like you have to “keep up appearances”
  • New music and finding the right people at the right time

Anna will release her first single "Bond Girl" on October 1st 2021, with side A of the project expected to release in early Spring 2022, so follow her and stay tuned!

Notes: 

Anna Mae - http://www.annamaemusic.com/

Dennis Morgan: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dennis_Morgan_(songwriter)

Wendy Duffy Resin8 - https://resin8music.com/wendy-duffy

RX Songs, Katie Fegan - https://musicrow.com/2017/06/exclusive-prescription-songs-nashvilles-katie-fagan-talks-new-signings-and-the-other-nashville/

Single Minded - https://open.spotify.com/track/6OB9UWLS03s5rTu5qPgpcT?si=7390f48c5ca04d55

Suzanne Strickland RareSpark - https://www.raresparkmedia.com/suzanne-strickland 

Lawyer Matt Cottingham - https://www.rlfllp.com/our_team/bios/matt_cottingham

Tia Sillers - http://www.tentenmusicgroup.com/tia-sillers

Cason Cooley - http://casoncooley.com/

Duolingo - https://www.duolingo.com/

 

The Table Ep. 22 - Country Music Artist-Songwriter Sacha!

The Table Ep. 22 - Country Music Artist-Songwriter Sacha!

August 10, 2021

Country Music Artist & Songwriter Sacha joins us to discuss her unique journey to stardom, including:

  • How a difficult childhood prepares you for the struggles of the music industry
  • Making the decision to “go for it”
  • The evolution of a star, from serving coffee to CMT’s Next Women of Country
  • The experience of being a black woman in Country Music in Canada, the US, and on tour worldwide
  • Lifting up others - anti-bullying campaigns, personal struggle, and using your voice to spread love
  • Why it’s so important to reach back and help the next in line
  • Building a career BEFORE champions come around, and how you hold your own after they do
  • Paving the way for yourself and others

Notes:

Sacha - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-NslWW83v0NqbAE6U0L18A

About - https://countryswag.com/who-is-sacha-the-story-behind-her-journey-to-country-music/

Next Women of Country - http://www.cmt.com/cmt-next-women-of-country-tour

The Best Thing EP 2020 - https://music.apple.com/us/album/the-best-thing-ep/1523197604

The Table Women Ep. 21 - Making Room for Everyone, Bluenecks, & the LGBT+ Experience  w/ Chris Housman & Nell Maynard!

The Table Women Ep. 21 - Making Room for Everyone, Bluenecks, & the LGBT+ Experience w/ Chris Housman & Nell Maynard!

June 28, 2021

                                Happy Pride from The Table Women! 

Artist and songwriter Chris Housman and songwriter Nell Maynard sit with Sarah and Vic to talk about:

Their viral hit song "Blueneck"

How Country Music and Entertainment are evolving with the times

Being LGBT+ in Country Music

What does allyship look like?

Finding your authenticity and voice

Coming Out - Those who paved the way and continuing the legacy

Using your privilege to uplift others

Social Media in Modern Music

Fighting for Inclusion for ALL
 
 
The Table Ep 20 - Season 2 Recap with Vic and Sarah!

The Table Ep 20 - Season 2 Recap with Vic and Sarah!

May 18, 2021

Hosts Vic and Sarah take a look back at the season, touching on topics including:

* Favorite conversations and stories from S2

* Stories from Sarah and Victoria’s lives and careers they’ve never shared

* How the world and industry has changed from recording to recap

* Breaking down networking, creating “buzz” around a creator that may or may not, be accurate, and trusting your instincts

* The ebb and flow of long-lasting careers

* The best kinds of relationships to have

* What’s going on in season 3?!

 

Notes:

Matraca Berg:

http://nashvillesongwritersfoundation.com/Site/inductee?entry_id=773

Mickey Guyton on Jana Kramer’s Podcas: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/know-justice-know-peace-with-mickey-guyton/id1378621306?i=1000476432778

Harvard Implicit Bias Quiz: https://implicit.harvard.edu/implicit/takeatest.html

The Table Ep. 19 - CMT’s SVP of Music Strategy Leslie Fram

The Table Ep. 19 - CMT’s SVP of Music Strategy Leslie Fram

May 4, 2021

Senior Vice President of Music Strategy for CMT Leslie Fram joins Sarah and Victoria for a very special conversation on her life and career, the good bad and funny of the entertainment industry, diversity and creating positive change for all, checking your privilege and bias, and uplifting creators - plus so much more!

 

Notes:

Sean Mullins - Lullaby https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hG9C0VwruXE

Change the Conversation - http://www.changetheconversation.net/

Maren Morris CMA’s Speech: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0oC3D2pdMKs

Nashville Music Equality - https://www.nashvillemusicequality.com/

Candice Watkins - https://nashvillelifestyles.com/people/women-in-business/women-in-business-2020-candice-watkins/

Shannon Sanders - https://www.bmi.com/news/entry/shannon-sanders-joins-bmis-nashville-creative-team-as-executive-director

Gina Miller - http://www.ginamillerpresents.com/about#meetgina

Rachel’s Story at Country Music Fan Seminar - https://tasteofcountry.com/rachel-berry-black-country-music-fan-viral-facebook-post/

Apple Radio - https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2020/08/apple-announces-apple-music-radio/

Viacom - Diversity and Inclusion Week NY - http://nickalive.blogspot.com/2020/09/viacomcbs-kicks-off-inclusion-week-amid.html

She is the Music - https://sheisthemusic.org/

Karen Fairchild - https://www.instagram.com/karenfairchild/?hl=en

Tracy Gershan  - https://www.instagram.com/tracygershon/?hl=en

Next Women of Country - http://www.cmt.com/cmt-next-women-of-country-tour

Beverly Keel  - https://www.tennessean.com/story/opinion/columnists/david-plazas/2020/09/16/tennessee-voices-beverly-keel-mstu-change-the-conversation/5805726002/

LeAnn Phelan - https://www.lpcreativetherapy.com/about

Song Suffragettes - https://www.songsuffragettes.com/

Tomato gate:  https://www.tennessean.com/story/entertainment/music/2015/06/18/tomato-gate-galvanizes-women-country/28936501/

Jennifer Nettles Equal Play Dress - https://www.nytimes.com/2019/11/14/style/jennifer-nettles-cms-equal-play.html

Brandi Carlile - https://book.brandicarlile.com/

Porter’s Call - https://www.porterscall.com/

Brett Eldredge - https://www.bretteldredge.com/

Maggie Rose - https://www.maggierosemusic.com/

Brittney Spencer - https://www.instagram.com/brittneyspencer/?hl=en

Jason Isbell - https://www.jasonisbell.com/

Amanda Shires - https://www.amandashiresmusic.com/

Jada Watson SongData - https://songdata.ca/research-team/principal-investigator/

Mickey Guyton - https://www.mickeyguyton.com/

The Table Ep. 18 - Creative Director Mariah Topel

The Table Ep. 18 - Creative Director Mariah Topel

April 27, 2021

LMK Creative Director Mariah Topel joins Sarah and Victoria for a chat about her job and journey, including:

The journey from sound engineering to music publishing

How a good boss can shape your career and mindset

What does a music publisher do?

How 2020 impacted songwriters and publishers

Letting your creatives set the tone

What sets a writer or artist apart

 

Notes:

https://www.lbkentertainment.com/

https://www.lbkentertainment.com/writers 

 

 

The Table Ep. 17 - Celebrity Stylist Breaunna Trask

The Table Ep. 17 - Celebrity Stylist Breaunna Trask

April 20, 2021

Celebrity Stylist Breaunna Trask sits down for a vulnerable talk with The Table about her career and journey. This episode does touch on sensitive topics such as suicidal thoughts and mental health struggles. Breaunna Sarah and Victoria discuss:

Going from styling teen fashion shows to celebrity photoshoots

Mental health and how to deal

Early trauma and how it impacts your life/career

The beauty of living your passion

Bosses - the good, the bad, and the ugly

Male feminists and female misogynists

Sticking to your guns and trusting your gut

 

Breaunna Trask: https://www.instagram.com/breaunnatrask/ 

Matthew Henson: http://matthew-henson.com/

Mercedes Natalia: http://www.mercedesnatalia.com/

 

The Table Ep. 16 - Founder of Song Suffragettes & Artist Manager Todd Cassetty

The Table Ep. 16 - Founder of Song Suffragettes & Artist Manager Todd Cassetty

April 13, 2021

Founder of Song Suffragettes & Artist Manager Todd Cassetty sits down with Sarah and Victoria to discuss:

The evolution of a risk-taker’s career

Working with artists like Taylor Swift and Kalie Shorr 

The founding of Song Suffragettes

Championing female talent

The role men play in helping or hurting women

Excuses excuses - what does sexism sound like?

How the industry can change the tide

How feminism makes the industry better for all

 

Episode Notes:

https://www.songsuffragettes.com/

http://hello.hififusion.com/about

https://www.kalieshorr.com/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QFb_al_ETrs

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/p/carrie-underwood-the-blown-away-tour-live/8d6kgwzsmpxn

https://www.caa.com/

http://www.changetheconversation.net/

http://www.cmtpress.com/network/executive/leslie-fram/

https://onbeing.org/programs/brene-brown-strong-back-soft-front-wild-heart/

https://www.grammy.com/recording-academy/press-room/diversity-inclusion

https://www.banksy.co.uk/

https://www.facebook.com/LaurenDuski/?ref=page_internal

https://blacklivesmatter.com/

http://www.lilnasx.com/

The Table - Ep. 15 Courtney Gregg Carnival Music VP & GM

The Table - Ep. 15 Courtney Gregg Carnival Music VP & GM

April 6, 2021

Carnival Music's VP & GM Courtney Gregg sits down at The Table to discuss: 

* How she got started

* An industry unicorn! Spending her whole career at one company

* Dealing with the old boy’s club

* The struggles of female artists and female writers - is one harder?

* Work-life balance

* Embarrassing industry experiences

 

Notes:

http://www.carnivalmusic.net/

http://www.startswimming.net/

https://haileywhitters.com/

The Table Ep. 14 - Actress Erin Karpluk

The Table Ep. 14 - Actress Erin Karpluk

March 30, 2021

Award-winning actress Erik Karpluk has had a long and diverse career appearing in both Canadian and US projects. She is known for her roles in Dark Angel, Masters of Sex, Gidiva's, 911/911 Lone Star, Reasonable Doubt, Christmas Lodge (co-starring host Victoria Banks!) and as 'Erica' in the hit CBC series Being Erica. Erin sits down for a candid discussion on:

Her personal and professional journies

Why a female support system is important

Finding and using your voice

The film industry and age, gender, nudity and storytelling

Unapologetically knowing your power

Sticking to your boundaries and morals

The industry in Canada vs. The USA

 

Notes:

Erin Karpluk Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/erinkarplukofficial/

Erin’s Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/erinkarpluk/?hl=en

Erin’s IMDB: https://www.imdb.com/name/nm1172442/

Christmas Lodge:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LmDUOfPLWtA

Chela Horsdal: https://www.imdb.com/name/nm1319098/

Michelle Harrison: https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0365768/

Sonja Bennett: https://www.imdb.com/name/nm1060641/

Tatiana Maslany: https://www.imdb.com/name/nm1137209/

Taylor Kitsch: https://www.imdb.com/name/nm2018237/

Lo Lind: https://www.instagram.com/lolindonthebeat/?hl=en

Ray Liotta: https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000501/

Armchair Expert America Ferrera: https://armchairexpertpod.com/pods/america-ferrera

Amanda Tapping: https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0850102/

Megan Follows: https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0001227/

Serena Ryder: https://www.serenaryder.com/

Red Racer: https://centralcitybrewing.com/products/red-racer-street-legal-dealcoholized-craft-beer/

Partake: https://drinkpartake.com/

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App