The Table Women Podcast

Special Episode! BIPOC in Country Music w/ Musicologist and Researcher Jada Watson

March 16, 2021

Sarah and Victoria have an emotional, in-depth discussion with Musicologist and Researcher Jada Watson on BIPOC representation in Country Music. Fresh off a newly released report, Jada and the hosts dive into:

  • The statistics and data regarding BIPOC creators 
  • Radio charts: 1944-2020
  • Are things getting better?
  • Breaking down the numbers
  • What do diversity and representation look like right now?
  • The impact of racism and bias on creators and communities
  • Touching on future research regarding LGBTQIA+ creators

 

Notes:

Song Data: https://songdata.ca/

The report: https://songdata.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/03/SongData-Watson-Redlining-Country-Music-032021.pdf 

Jada's Article on Mickey Guyton 2021 Grammys: https://www.nbcnews.com/think/opinion/grammys-2021-performer-mickey-guyton-makes-history-without-country-radio-ncna1261044 

Karl Hagstrom Miller: https://www.dukeupress.edu/segregating-sound

Amanda Martinez: https://www.amandamariemartinez.com/

Charles Hughes Country Soul: https://uncpress.org/book/9781469633428/country-soul/

Charley Pride: https://charleypride.com/

Linda Martell: https://www.rollingstone.com/music/music-features/linda-martell-black-country-grand-ole-opry-pioneer-1050432/

Virginia Kirby: https://rateyourmusic.com/artist/virginia_kirby

Barbara Cooper: https://www.thewomenfolk.com/?page_id=10

Ruby Falls: http://www.hillbilly-music.com/artists/story/index.php?id=16863#:~:text=Hillbilly%2DMusic.com%20%2D%20Ruby%20Falls&text=She%20was%20Bertha%20Bearden%20Dorsey,black%20female%20country%20music%20singers

Stoney Edwards: http://www.hillbilly-music.com/artists/story/index.php?id=14940

O.B. McClinton: http://www.mscountrymusictrail.org/markers/o-b-mcclinton

Big Al Downing: http://www.cmt.com/news/1505212/singer-songwriter-and-pianist-big-al-downing-dies-at-age-65/

Our Native Daughters: https://folkways.si.edu/songs-of-our-native-daughters

Leslie Fram: http://www.cmtpress.com/network/executive/leslie-fram/

Joel Whitburn: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joel_Whitburn

Darius Rucker: https://www.dariusrucker.com/

Jimmie Allen: https://www.jimmieallenmusic.com/

Kane Brown: https://www.kanebrownmusic.com/

Mickey Guyton: https://www.mickeyguyton.com/

Blanco Brown: https://www.blancobrown.com/welcome/

Rissi Palmer: https://rissipalmermusic.com/

Crystal Shawanda: http://crystalshawanda.co/

Star De Azlan: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Star_De_Azlan

Hunter Kelley: https://rarecountry.com/voices/hunter-kelly/

The sum of us - Heather McGhee: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0871KZQ3G/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?_encoding=UTF8&btkr=1

Chely Wright: https://www.chely.com/

Ty Herndon: https://www.tyherndon.com/

Billy Gilman: http://www.billygilman.com/

Shelley Fairchild: https://www.shellyfairchild.com/

Kristen Hall: https://tasteofcountry.com/sugarland-lawsuit-kristen-hall-details/

Brandy clark: https://www.brandyclarkmusic.com/

CRS Talk Data To Me: https://www.billboard.com/index.php/articles/business/9525467/country-radio-seminar-streaming-panels-crs

Teach and Transform Liz Kleinrock: https://www.instagram.com/teachandtransform/?hl=en

Zero-Sum Game Theory - Heather McGhee: https://www.nytimes.com/2021/02/13/opinion/race-economy-inequality-civil-rights.html

 

Thank you to our season 2 launch sponsor Anchor Publicity! We are so proud to work with such a wonderful female-owned company that supports and uplifts others. You can find them at:

http://anchorpublicity.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App